2019 Reviews

Did you just return from Wil-deer-ness Cabin? Click here and let us know all about your stay!

Scroll through the many reviews we've received over the years and
see what others had to say about their stay in the Wil-deer-ness.

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

Ray G. of SC
12/29/2019-1/1/2020
We loved the location, privacy, hot tub and it was easy to find and access. Looking for easy access yet secluded & this was perfect. Everything you want & need & only 10-15 minutes from town. Beautiful inside & out & river access is great. We wouldn't change anything, it's great!

Francesca C. of FL
Dec 24-29, 2019
Cute place. Felt cozy for the four of us (2 adults 2 kids). I really loved exploring the property and going down to the river with the kids. Plenty to do and explore as long as your willing to drive. The place was very clean and plenty of cooking utensils.

Devin C. of NC
Dec 12-15, 2019
We enjoyed our stay once again. I've lost count of how many times we have visited this cabin now, but for the first time we brought our kids. Over the years we have used this cabin as a break from our little ones while they stay with their grandparents. This time we decided they are old enough to enjoy it with us. Our 5 and 7 year olds absolutely loved the cabin, property and most importantly the hot tub. The addition of the roku was a must for rainy days with the kids and we spent the dry days exploring the property and West Jefferson. Thanks again for sharing!

Mary H. of NC
Nov 27-30, 2019
We just enjoyed the Thanksgiving weekend at Wil-deer-ness and had a wonderful time. The cabin was so clean and comfortable. We loved all the decorations in the cabin, loved the hot tub and loved that it was dog friendly. We enjoyed time in the hot tub while our turkey cooked (could not have been better :-) Don't change anything, it was great all around.

Debbie P. of NC
Nov 21-24, 2019
We had so much fun here. The cabin is beautiful. Thanks

John W. of NC
Nov 14-17, 2019
We came to the cabin for an impromptu honeymoon/long weekend get away. We were immediately pleased w/everything here! The website and pics do Not do it Justice! We needed a few days to completely disconnect from our busy lives and thats exactly what we got here. We spent our time riding around and looking at all the gorgeous properties near by. Aside from that we had absolutely nothing but relax, eat, set by the fire or in the hot tub and enjoy nature. It was Perfect!!! Not only will we be back but we will recommend this cabin to other mountain lovers! Thanks for Everything!

Jennifer C. of NC
Oct 26-Nov 1, 2019
My husband and I needed a relax week! This was a perfect place for us. Its always such a pleasure to come to Wil-deer-ness Cabin. It has become our home away from home for so many reasons. The nature the privacy the cabin and the wonderful ammenties. We love Ashe county and we thank you again for sharing your home with us. We had several days of rain and wind, but we relished that time to just rest and relax. We also enjoyed West Jefferson the Blue Ridge Parkway and so many restaurants. Boonedocks, Pie on the Mountain and Smokey Mountain Barbeque are some favorites. The leaves were just perfect. It was a very special week for us. We will be back.

Jere R. of NC
Oct 20-26, 2019
Everything is just perfect. All of your written directions here at the cabin made everything easy! Once day in and we will definitely be coming back. Thank you for the wonderful little haven you've created here. Love the outdoor speakers.

Laura P. of NC
Oct 15-17, 2019
We are so enjoying this sweet, beautiful cabin! It is everything I love. Thank you for the S'mores gift. How very thoughtful. Enjoying a peaceful rainy day. Perfect setting and perfect cabin. My husband and I had a peaceful anniversary get away. Couldn't have asked for a better place to enjoy. Well equipt, clean, homey. I wanted to stay a week. We will come again!

Laura P. of NC
Oct 15-17, 2019
Twenty second anniversary get away for Craig and I. We love this sweet cabin. Quiet location and the beautiful river. We found everything we needed here. We had the most relaxing couple of days we have had in a long time. We enjoyed the movie collection and well stocked kitchen. Our only outing was Boonedocs in West Jefferson. We are both small business owners and needed some unplug time. We couldn't have asked for a better spot. Hope to come again to enjoy more of the fun outside options here. This time just listening to the rain was perfect.

Lauryn B. of NC
Oct 11-15, 2019
Loved all the amenities and little "extras". Absolutely loved the decor - inside and outside of the cabin. Very comfortable place! Loved the Wil-deer-ness cabin!

Lauryn B. of NC
Oct 11-15, 2019
What a nice way for us 4 ladies to relax and enjoy all that nature has to offer. Wil-deer-ness Cabin was very cozy and warm. We went into Boone and West Jefferson to explore some gift shops. The people were very friendly and made us feel welcome. I would definitely come back to Wil-deer-ness since it had everything I needed and more! Hot tub was very nice especially on cooler days. If starting a camp fire didn't take me an hour I would do many more! LoL I didn't pass that class:) But I did enjoy a walk to the river and seat on the hammock. Out of the 4 of us 2 cooked and the other 2 do not they eat and clean. I really appreciate all the available appliances and spice, etc..in the kitchen. I also enjoy all the fun little out doorsy home decor through out the cabin. It makes me smile. Thank you for the wonderful stay and hope to be back again. The Beach Ladies

Brent L. of NC
Sep 27-30, 2019
5 years ago we spent our honeymoon at your beautiful cabin and its become one of our favorite places. We had a lovely anniversary weekend and already look forward to the next time we can return. Thank you! P.S We visited the Landmark Alpaca Farm about 4 miles away-so fun!!

Dawn I. of NC
Sep 24-27, 2019
Thank you folks for sharing your beautiful get a way cabin in the hills!! Everything was so enjoyable just to hear the silence made us so happy to regain life and back in the real world. May you and yours have lovely holiday season. We will want to revisit in the spring. God's continue blessings.

Brian N. of VA
Sep 21-24, 2019
We have enjoyed our 3 day get away so much!! We get to spend a lot more time at and in the beautiful river during this visit. The weather and this sweet cabin couldn't have been better. We get to play some cornhole out by the firepit and roast some weiners. The hot tub is perfect and in the best place, It helped our old ackey bones! Can't wait to come back again. Thank you all!

Connie T. of NC
Aug 30-Sep 2, 2019
Enjoyed the cabin, we related and enjoyed everything. Went to Grandfather Mountain, visted the winery at the bottom of the mountain and in West Jefferson went to the Ashe County Cheese factory and store. Enjoyed the hot tub relaxing. Nice way to finish up right here playing games and making smores and relaxing in hammock or just sitting on porch. This was a nice trip away. Thank you

Bill T. of NC
Aug 27-30, 2019
Love the cabin! Excellent for seclusion. Well stocked and clean. We enjoyed our stay and the cabin was excellent! Hope to return next summer! Thanks!

Debbie P. of NC
Aug 17-24, 2019
Once again we had a nice time. Thanks we'll be back.

Bobby M. of NC
Aug 12-16, 2019
My husband and I both work stressful jobs with lots of hours and demands. This cabin was just what we needed! Connecting with natural and relaxing. No email, no phones, no deadlines, not another soul to interact with is the best feeling ever! Thank You! The river is magical, first time our dogs were ever in a river...Kings loved it! Ty not so much but both offered up laughs. Hot tub is great especially after hiking around. Well appointed cabin- would definitely come back. Thank you for sharing your home with our family.

Brandi C. of NC
Aug 5-9, 2019
Thank you for another wonderful stay we really enjoyed staying here and feel like its a home away from home. We can't wait to come back!

Mark & Nancy C. of NC
Aug 1-4, 2019
The cabin is just outstanding. It offers complete privacy and seclusion, but is still close enough to West Jefferson/Jefferson to be convenient. Everything that you could possibly need is provided. We will return again and again.

Kimala N. of VA
Jul 22-24, 2019
The cabin is awesome!!! So far its our favorite out of many we have stayed in, very well stocked & perfect location. We liked the privacy & no traffic! It rained most of the time we were there but we really enjoyed our walks down to the river, the hot tub & the games - on the porch :-). I can't think of anything to change. Everything was awesome! We had a very good time & hope to come back soon & stay longer. Thank you for your beautiful cabin.

Kimala N. of VA
Jul 22-24, 2019
The cabin is awesome!!! This cabin is the best we have stayed at in 30 years since we have been doing these get aways. It was very well stocked & the perfect location. Everything was perfect except for the rain, but we really enjoyed our walks down to the river, the hot tub & the games - on the porch :-). We liked the privacy & no traffic! I can't think of anything to change. Everything was awesome! The buck and doe we saw this morning was a very nice way to start the day. Hope to be back soon & stay longer with some sunny days to enjoy the river more. Thanks Again!

Pam S. of CT
Jul 18-20, 2019
We loved this home! Everything you could imagine in a comfortable stay. Detailed directions, spacious, inviting,all the supplies we expected, comfortable beds, plenty of kitchen, bedding, towel supplies. Whimsical decorations, the smell of a handcrafted wood cabin, a river just a short walk away! Hot tub was so welcoming, clean and easy to use after Mt. Rogers and a long drive here. We hope to return if you'll have us as it was better than we'd expected!!

Greg T. of NC
Jul 10-12, 2019
This property met all of our expectatioons. The owners were very helpful in both our getting to the cabin, as well as, providing a cabin that had everything we needed and more! Enjoyed our stay at your cabin very comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed the hot tub and making s'mores for my birthday. The cabin was well located and allowed us to take short day trips to some of the surrounding towns. I would recommend visiting shatley springs for breakfast or lunch and take in its history. We look forward to visiting this cabin again.

Don P. of NC
Jul 7-10, 2019
A perfect getaway for our anniversary 41st. Time on the river fly fishing, a brief drive then hiking on Mt. Jefferson, listening to music in Jefferson and some great meals locally. All that and still time for the hot tub every day. (And s'mores). Loved the proximity and ease of access to the river, cleanliness, the hot tub and the privacy.

Nancy A. of NC
Jul 3-7, 2019
The cabin is quite cute and well equipped. We enjoyed all the amenities including the hot tub, DVD library, WiFi, fire pit, hammock and horse shoes. We did go out to Molly Chomper and then had pizza in town and that was fun.

Gary S. of NC
Jun 30-Jul 3, 2019
This place never disappoints us, it is a little place in heaven! Sitting in the chairs in the river and kayaking was wonderful! A much needed time away from the hussle and bussle of everyday life. Can't wait to come back and enjoy your home again.

Penny H. of NC
Jun 28-30, 2019
The cabin was absolutely lovely. Hot tub was the best!

Michael F. of NC
Jun 21-26, 2019
First time here, and could not have asked for a better place to spend our honeymoon. We had a blast tubing the river, zip lining, and eating at local restaurants. Had a great stay, and we will definitely come back.

Laura J. of SC
Jun 6-9, 2019
This was our first stay here, Loved everything. The walk to the river is nice going down but sure let me know how out of shape I am on the way up. lol Hope to come back again. Maybe it won't rain the whole time next time. Got some much need relaxation.

Pam L. of NC
Jun 3-6, 2019
We had a wonderful time again this is the 2nd time we have stayed with you. The first time was awesome but this one just can't be beat. We are celebrating our 31st anniversary. We had such a peaceful vacation Thanks.

Cheryl B. of NC
May 31-Jun 2, 2019
This was our first time! Very nice cabin. Enjoyed the hot tub and firepit. Very nice area. Will be back again in the future.

Rob R. of NC
May 18-24, 2019
We greatly enjoyed our stay at the cabin. It was very relaxing and the whole family enjoyed the cooler temps and the time away from reality.

Nicole J. of NC
Apr 24-26, 2019
This was our first time here at your beautiful cabin. We loved and will definitely be back!

Jean F. of MA
Apr 8-15, 2019
What a Great place to relax. We enjoyed it so much we found a home in Warrensville that we are moving into. Thank You

Brad A. of NC
Apr 4-7, 2019
This was our second trip to wil-deer-ness cabin. We had to miss last year because of my husband's surgery. We love this place. This is our birthday retreat each year. The cabin is beautiful and I would not change one thing. We had a peaceful, relaxing time. We will be back very soon maybe in the fall but definitely next year on our birthdays!

Steve W. of NC
Mar 29-Apr 1, 2019
Another wonderful weekend at wildeerness cabin. Tranquility at its best. Can't wait to come back again. Thank you

Michael D. of VA
Mar 27-29, 2019
We enjoyed our stay and hiking in the area. I just wish we were as organized! Many thanks!

Allison C. of NC
Mar 22-25, 2019
First visit to the cabin. Loved it! Now we wish we had our very own. My husband and I had a great time at your cabin. Love the decor!! Thank you for the memories!

Sherry P. of Nc
Mar 15-17, 2019
We enjoyed our 2nd stay here at the cabin for our anniversary weekend! Thank you so much for the extra touches! We absolutely love it here.

Ken Y. of NC
Mar 5-7, 2019
We sure enjoyed our visit to wil-deer-ness cabin. The conveniences of home... but a nice getaway. We enjoyed the privacy, size of the cabin and the hot tub. Thank you for sharing your cabin with us.

Shelley S. of NC
Mar 2-4, 2019
Thank you for sharing your beautiful cabin with us. We appreciate all the info. about activites and restaurants in the area. The cabin was absolutely lovely. It was very cozy, and clean, and well stocked, and the beds were very comfortable! You can tell the owners take a lot of pride in their cabin it is equipped with everything you need and more! We loved the hot tub, river trail and the beautiful covered wrap around porch. The owners do an awesome job of sharing all the area attractions with you. They are very attentive and quick to answer any questions. The cabin has everything you need and more. We will definitely be back again!

Brandi C. of NC
Feb 15-17, 2019
Thank you for another wonderful visit, everything was fantastic as always. We really appreciated the birthday surprise. We always love staying. It rained most of the weekend this time, but we still had a wonderful time. The cabin is so well-stocked with games, movies, etc that we never worry about bad weather activities. We always enjoy the updated selections. The new fireplace is super easy to use! We can't wait to come back again!

Joan D. of NC
Feb 12-14, 2019
We really liked the hot tub and exploring the town.

Norm & Nancy C. of NC
Jan 31-Feb 3, 2019
We had a great time, great weather, great eats...can you guess it was Great! Thanks for the silence, beauty, & peace.

Jim & Laura P. of NC
Jan 22-25, 2019
We loved our stay in this charming, cozy cabin and town. We had everything we needed for a relaxing and memorable weekend. Thank you :-)

Jeff & Connie B. of NC
Jan 18-20, 2019
We had a very relaxing and enjoyable time. Very peaceful. We would like to come back.

Brian & Amy L. of NC
Jan 11-13, 2019
Another great weekend getaway at the cabin. Snow and ending in freezing rain, but still a great, beautiful experience. Our favorite lunch place - Sweet and Savory, best roasted red pepper soup. Cascade falls were beautiful with snow. We can't wait to come back. We also loved the walk to the river. We saw lots of deer.

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010


Home/Amenities | Calendar | Rates | Specials | Photos | Videos | On-Site Activities | Area Attractions | Packages | Cabin Comparison | Reviews | Location | Reservations | Contact Us